Race news, Clipper Round the World yacht race
Clipper Race Yacht Club

Welcome to the CRYC

The first Clipper Round the World yacht race started in September 1996. Since then there have been nine races, and Clipper yachts have sailed in the Rolex Fastnet race and the Sevenstar Round Britain & Ireland. In total, there are now in excess of 2,000 people who can claim the special distinction of calling themselves Clipper crew.

The Clipper Race Yacht Club was conceived by Colin de Mowbray, its first Commodore, as ‘a logical way to bring some gentle order to this special group of adventurers’.

Club structure

The driving force of the Club is the Committee, formed from a mix of current Clipper employees, ex-crew and ex-staff.

The Committee will be looking for volunteers for a number of active roles within the club, including representative ‘Race Captains’ from each of the completed races, to ensure everyone is included.


The Club will initially be formed under the Clipper Ventures umbrella, but the Committee will be solely responsible for the running and development of the Club. The overriding principle is not to make a profit, but to bring everyone together for the mutual advantage of all parties.

Get involved!

Clipper crews are never backward at coming forward so if you are interested in becoming part of the driving force of the CRYC now is the time to forward your names, ideas and suggestions. Let’s be hearing from you!


Please address any kind of correspondence, including application forms and cheques for joining fees, to:

Clipper Race Yacht Club
82 Woodland Gardens
Muswell Hill
London N10 3UB

Two clowns

The CRYC committee

All appointments to the Clipper Race Yacht Club Committee are honorary.

President: Sir Robin Knox-Johnston CBE RD

Vice Presidents:
Sir Keith Mills (Ariel ’98)
Gordon Whiteley (Chrysolite ’96)
Jim Dick (Hull & Humber 07-08)

Founding Commodore: Colin de Mowbray (Chrysolite ’ 96)

Commodore: Neil Withers (Durban, 07-08)

Rear Commodore: Sarah Thorogood (nee Beaugeard)
(Jersey, Times Clipper 2000 & Clipper staff 2002-2006)

Secretary: Lizzie Hackett-Brown (Bristol, Times Clipper 2000)

Treasurer: Janice Beesley (Clipper staff 1997-2009)

Membership Secretary: Jean Neal (New York, 05-06)

Committee members:
Matt Lloyd (Bristol, 2002)
Andrew Fulton (Glasgow, Times Clipper 2000)
Justin Comer (New York, 07-08)
Dominic Peyton (Chrysolite, ’98)
Corrie (Bollie) McQueen (Glasgow, 2002)

Event Coordinator: Emily Caruso (Clipper staff 2007-2008)

E-Comms Manager: Chris Wicks (Nova Scotia, 07-08)

Newsletter Editor: Becky Cusworth (nee Lock) (Cardiff, 05-06)